English reflection – Identity

For my personality, values and culture are the most significant parts. Values represent what I ultimately desire or believe, referring my personality clearly. The most important values of mine are physical strength and appearance, being educated, traveling, money, music and art. When all of those values are gathered, my personal identity will be completed. As with the values, culture takes the most significant part of myself. Culture basically represents the atmosphere that a person has been living on. The atmosphere, culture, gives huge effect on one’s personal identity. It constructs one’s perspective, values, and beliefs as well. Due to these reasons, values and culture are the most important parts of my personal identity.

I would argue that language is the most unique element of Korea. Language of Korea, Hangul has been selected as a world heritage of UNESCO. None of other languages have done this before. The uniquenesses of this language is that it is invented and easy. Caused by this easy language, Korea has the lowest illiteracy rate in the world. This gives Korea a special identity.

By learning this unit, I’ve learnt about variety of values and differences of other countries’ national identity.

Leave a comment